The Philosopher Savant Takes a Walk by Rustin Larson*

Image

On my way to the post office this morning, I was feeling

Pretty balanced, pretty good. I looked at the movie posters;

I passed the tattoo-and-piercing establishment. Some

Restaurant was frying up a batch of onions.

I got over that and kept walking. I retrieved my mail.

If I can be someone’s entertainment by being myself,

I have no regrets. I believed in my footsteps. I crossed

To walk through the gazebo. There were a few marigolds.

The sun was tilted and cooly golden. A crippled woman

Watched me from her car. It was a Tuesday; I remember

that much

 

*Published in the January 13, 2014 issue of The New Yorker 

Leave a Reply

