Drinking Alone by Moonlight by Li Bo

Image

Here among flowers one flask of wine,

with no close friends, I pour it alone.

 

I lift cup to bright moon, beg its company,

then facing my shadow, we become three.

 

The moon has never known how to drink;

my shadow does nothing but follow me.

 

But with the moon and shadow as companions the while,

this joy I find must catch spring while it’s here.

 

I sing, and the moon just lingers on;

I dance, and my shadow flails wildly.

 

When still sober we share friendship and pleasure,

then, utterly drunk, each goes his own way–

 

Let us join to roam beyond human cares

and plan to meet far in the river of stars.

Leave a Reply

